Cruise and Beach Destinations
in the Caribbean, Mexico & Beyond

Guadeloupe Passport Requirements

U.S. citizens require passports to travel to Guadeloupe, but visas are generally not required for visitors planning to remain for up to 90 days.

U.S. Citizens
Under the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative, special rules apply to U.S. citizens traveling to Mexico, Bermuda and certain destinations in the Caribbean*.

U.S. citizens traveling by air are required to have a passport to re-enter the States. Anyone traveling by land or sea needs to present either (a) a passport, passport card or WHTI-compliant document; or (b) a government-issued photo ID, such as a driver’s license, along with proof of citizenship, such as a birth certificate.

As of June 1, 2009, most U.S. citizens entering the United States at sea or land ports of entry are required to show a passport, passport card, or WHTI-compliant document. They will no longer be allowed to use a government-issued photo ID as proof of citizenship.

The U.S. government recommends traveling with a valid U.S. passport to avoid delays or misunderstandings while visiting other countries. A lost or stolen passport is also easier to replace when outside of the United States than other evidence of citizenship.

For further information, travelers can contact the Embassy of France at 4101 Reservoir Road NW, Washington, DC 20007; telephone 1 202 944-6000; or the nearest French consulate in Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, New Orleans or San Francisco. Visit the web site for the Embassy of France at for the most current visa information.

Canadian Citizens
A valid Canadian passport is required for Canadians intending to visit Guadeloupe. The passport must be valid for at least three months beyond the date of your departure.

Visitors must apply for a visa if their stay is longer than three months. All travelers must also be in possession of an onward or return ticket.

These requirements are subject to change at any time. It is the traveler’s responsibility to check with the country’s embassy or its consulates for up-to-date information.

U.S. State Department:
Canadian Consular Affairs:

* Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Jamaica (except for business travel), Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Turks and Caicos.

Scott S. Bateman is a professional journalist who has traveled widely throughout the Caribbean and the America.
February 17, 2020