Cruise and Beach Destinations
in the Caribbean, Mexico & Beyond
Turks and Caicos

Passport Requirements

A passport is required for U.S. visitors to Turks and Caicos, as well as proof of a round-trip ticket.

Canadian visitors are not required to have a passport. Instead, they can bring a valid photo identification such as a driver's license, proof of citizenship and a round-trip ticket.

U.S. Citizens
Under the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative, special rules apply to U.S. citizens traveling to Mexico, Bermuda and certain destinations in the Caribbean*.

U.S. citizens traveling by air are required to have a passport to re-enter the States. Anyone traveling by land or sea needs to present either (a) a passport, passport card or WHTI-compliant document; or (b) a government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license, along with proof of citizenship, such as a birth certificate.

On June 1, 2009, most U.S. citizens entering the United States at sea or land ports of entry will be required to show a passport, passport card, or WHTI-compliant document. They will no longer be allowed to use a government-issued photo ID as proof of citizenship.

The U.S. government recommends traveling with a valid U.S. passport to avoid delays or misunderstandings while visiting other countries. A lost or stolen passport is also easier to replace when outside of the United States than other evidence of citizenship.

Canadian Citizens
These requirements are subject to change at any time. In order to avoid delays and misunderstandings, the Canadian government strongly recommends that its citizens travel with a passport valid for six months after their arrival date. It is the only universally accepted identification document, and it proves that they have a right to return to Canada.

Some airlines require Canadians to present their passport when returning back to Canada. It is strongly recommended that travelers verify these requirements directly with their airline before departure. It is the traveler's responsibility to check with the country's embassy or its consulates for up-to-date information.

U.S. State Department
Canadian Consular Affairs

* Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Jamaica (except for business travel), Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Turks and Caicos.
Scott S. Bateman is a professional journalist who has traveled widely throughout the Caribbean and the Americas. He is the author of four books about cruising in the Caribbean, Alaska and Mexican Riviera.
February 17, 2020